The Specials

2009 did not see a new Series of Doctor Who instead 4 Specials were issued to cover the gap. These were ‘The Planet of the Dead’ ‘The Waters of Mars’ and ‘The End of Time (Parts 1-2)’. Also the Sarah Jane Adventures played host to the Doctor making it the only spin-off to include him. And as well as that the BBC launced an animated Doctor Who adventure named ‘Dreamland’.

Planet of the Dead:


  • Broadcast: 11 April 2009
  • Viewers: 9.54m


When a London bus takes a detour to an alien world, the Doctor must join forces with the extraordinary Lady Christina. But the mysterious planet holds terrifying secrets, hidden in the sand. And time is running out, as the deadly Swarm gets close.


Written by Russell T Davies & Gareth Roberts
Directed by James Strong

The Doctor – David Tennant
Lady Christina – Michelle Ryan
Malcolm – Lee Evans
Capt Magambo – Noma Dumezweni
DI McMillan – Adam James
Sgt Dennison – Glenn Doherty
Angela – Victoria Alcock
Nathan – David Ames
Carmen – Ellen Thomas
Lou – Reginald Tsiboe
Barclay – Daniel Kaluuya
Bus Driver – Keith Parry
Sgt Ian Jenner – James Layton
Sorvin – Paul Kasey
Praygat – Ruari Mears

The Wedding of Sarah Jane Smith:


  • Broadcast: 29 & 30 October 2009
    Writer: Gareth Roberts
    Director: Alice Troughton


The Doctor returns on the happiest day of Sarah Jane’s life – but a deadly trap is waiting for them all! As the strands of a clever and careful plan draw together, can even a Time Lord save Sarah Jane, on the day of her arch-enemy’s greatest triumph?


Writer: Gareth Roberts
Director: Alice Troughton

Sarah Jane Smith – Elizabeth Sladen

The Doctor – David Tennant

Luke Smith – Tommy Knight

Rani Chandra – Anjli Mohindra

Clyde Langer: Daniel Anthony

Peter Daulton – Nigel Havers

Mr Smith – Alexander Armstrong

The Trickster – Paul Marc Dvis

Gita Chandra – Mian Anwar

Harash Chandra – Ace Bhatti

K9 – John Leeson

The Waters of Mars:


  • Broadcast: 15 November 2009
  • Viewers: 10.32m


The Doctor joins forces with his oldest companion on record when a military base comes under attack from sentient, dangerous waters . It may be another stand against immeasurable odds, but waiting in the wings for the Time Lord is a sign all songs must end…


Writer by Russell T Davies & Phil Ford
Directed by Graeme Harper

The Doctor — David Tennant
Adelaide Brooke — Lindsay Duncan
Ed Gold — Peter O’brien
Yuri Kerenski — Aleksandar Mikic
Mia Bennett — Gemma Chan
Maggie Cain — Sharon Duncan-Brewster
Tarak Ital — Chook Sibtain
Andy Stone — Alan Ruscoe
Steffi Ehrlich — Cosima Shaw
Roman Groom — Michael Goldsmith
Emily — Lily Bevan
Mikhail — Max Bollinger
Adelaide’s Father — Charlie De’ath
Young Adelaide — Rachel Fewell
Ulrika Ehrlich — Anouska Strahnz
Lisette Ehrlich — Zofia Strahnz
Ood Sigma — Paul Kasey

The End of Time:


  • Broadcast: 25 December 2009/1 January 2010
  • Viewers: 12.27m


It’s the Tenth Doctor’s final journey – but his psychotic nemesis the Master has been reborn, on Christmas Eve. With both determined to cheat death, the battle ranges from the wastelands of London to the mysterious Immortality Gate, while the alien Ood warn of an even greater danger approaching, as a terrible shadow falls across the entire Universe.

The Doctor faces the end of his life as the Master’s plans hurtle out of control. With the sound of drums growing louder, and an ancient trap closing around the Earth, the Doctor and Wilf must fight alone. But sacrifices must be made, and the deadly prophecy warns: “He will knock four times.


Written by Russell T Davies
Directed by Euros Lyn

The Doctor — David Tennant
The Doctor — Matt Smith
The Master — John Simm
Wilfred Mott — Bernard Cribbins
Rassilon/The Narrator — Timothy Dalton
Donna Noble — Catherine Tate
Captain Jack — John Barrowman
Rose Tyler — Billie Piper
Martha Jones — Freema Agyeman
Mickey Smith — Noel Clarke
Sarah Jane Smith — Elizabeth Sladen
Luke Smith — Tommy Knight
Sylvia Noble — Jacqueline King
Minnie Hooper — June Whitfield
The Woman — Claire Bloom
Joshua Naismith — David Harewood
Abygail Naismith- Tracy Ifeachor
Rossiter — Lawry Lewin
Addams — Sinead Keenan
Lucy Saxon — Alexandra Moen
Shaun Temple — Karl Collins
Governor — Teresa Banham
Oliver Barnes — Barry Howard
Winston Katusi — Allister Bain
Miss Trefusis — Sylvia Seymour
Tommo — Pete Lee-Wilson
Ginger — Dwayne Scantlebury
The Second — Joe Dixon
The Partisan — Julie Legrand
The Visionary — Brid Brennan
Nerys — Krystal Archer
Trinity Wells — Lachele Carl
Ood Sigma — Paul Kasey
Elder Ood — Ruari Mears
Voice of Ood Sigma — Silas Carson
Voice of Elder Ood — Brian Cox
Voice of Judoon — Nicholas Briggs


One thought on “The Specials

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s